Ilkeston Masonic Hall sits quietly next door to the Erewash Museum on High Street. This Chapel building was converted in 1983 into a lodge room and has been the home of the Ilkeston Masonic Lodges ever since. Extensive renovations and enhancements have added a stunning dining room, seating up to 100 diners along with an anteroom and bar facility.
Warrant: 8 December 1971 and Consecrated: 24 May 1972
Ymlaen Lodge Meet at Cardiff Masonic Hall on the 3rd Wed. in Sept. Dec. Jan. & the 4th Wed in May (Installation).
Ymlaen Lodge was conceived and Consecrated as the ‘Cathays High School Old Boys’ Lodge, in Cardiff. The school, with its sister school for girls, was opened in Sept 1931. It is of particular interest to note that it was built to replace the Cardiff Junior Technical College, which had been held in high esteem by both pupils and the Commercial and Industrial interests in the area
In common with other Schools Lodges, Ymlaen hosts a ‘Schools Night’ once a year when, along with local Cardiff Lodges, they are proud to welcome Brethren from Newport (Nioba Lodge), Swansea (Old Goreans) and Bristol (Robert Thorne Lodge). The (unwritten) rules for all such Meetings dictate that ‘each Brother is expected to pay his owning Dining Fee’ known as Rule 3. This is not a sign of meanness but rather an extremely helpful way in which a wider visiting environment can be created between participating Lodges. So successful has it been that it has found its way into use by other Lodges outside the Schools Federation.